Digital Literacy… What’s that mean?

In my previous knowledge I have yet to understand what digital literacy is. Although it is easy for me to break it apart with the breakdown of the two words that comprise the statement. Digital means electronic. Literacy is the understanding or proper use of. Therefore, in my literary analysis, I have concluded that digital literacy is simply the use of and understanding of proper uses for technology.

In my research I have discovered that I am not far off. In fact, I have found that although it goes deeper than that explanation, when googled the definition mentions the ability to find, utilize, share, and create content on the Internet or technology. This in some way blew my mind. This implies that I am in fact, using digital literacy (or expanding on my literacy) at this moment! Although this is the first time I have created a blog for a class, I am not new to the blogging world. I actually have a personal blog that I have spent a large quantity of my time on. However, I still have plenty to learn in the area of blogging. This brings me to my next point. I believe social networking outlets to be a part of digital literacy. In which case I find that I am relatively proficient in the forms of Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. I would like to better learn to utilize these components for business purposes rather than just recreational.

I believe it is important to remember that we are always learning. Because of this, we are constantly learning new ways to improve. I look to improve in my understanding of what digital literacy is, and how to better utilize all platforms available to me. The following link is a website I found in which to be useful in beginning to understand digital literacy. http://digitalliteracy.us/

2 thoughts on “Digital Literacy… What’s that mean?

  1. Hello,
    I wanted to let you know that I clicked on you link to US Digital Literacy and found this important message.

    “Technology must be like oxygen: ubiquitous, necessary, and invisible.”
    -Chris Lehmann, Principal of Science Leadership Academy

    The article this quote was taken from was speaking to out dated classroom technology practices. US Digital Literacy, suggest that computer labs are obsolete.
    I have spent time in schools that have mobile labs and computer labs. The schools that are able to offer mobile labs have higher student usage per day.
    What are your thoughts on computer labs?

    Like

    1. I believe that actual computer labs are becoming rather outdated. We are in a mobile and at our fingertips society. This implies that most all of our technology is easily transported within the classroom and the reach of the students. I believe this is both negative and positive. I grew up in a school with the computer lab that we visited often. This is a foreign concept to many of today’s students.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

